Search

Article

x

Vol. 21, No. 11 (1965)

1965-06-05
CONTENT
RECENT DEVELOPMENT IN THE EXPERIMENTAL STUDY OF “ELEMENTARY PARTICLES”
W. Y. CHANG
1965, 116 (11): 1831-1872. doi: 10.7498/aps.21.1831
Abstract +
This paper intends to give a comprehensive survey of the development in the experimental study of "elementary particles" during the last four or five years. However, the most part of the paper has been devoted to the strongly interacting particles, bringing into discussion only a few problems concerning the weak interaction. The main reason for doing so is this: It is in the area of the strongly interacting particles that there has been in these years a rapid and large accumulation of newly discovered facts, that is, the resonant states of particles, quickly bringing the total number of particles from about 30 to about 100; moreover, in the corresponding theoretical aspect, there is also up to now a more or less successful development, that is, the SU(3) classification scheme as proposed from the symmetry of strong interaction. Simply because of these new developments, we are now more than ever certain that the so-called elementary particles are not elementary but composite, i.e. having internal structure (at least as far as the strongly interacting particles are concerned). This point has been discussed in some detail in the "Introduction". The paper then summari2es and discusses seven groups of experiments which have been performed in the last four or five years and are considered as more important in the field of "elementary particles", four groups being concerned with the strong interaction while three groups with the weak interaction. After this, discussion has been concentrated on the recent development of the strongly interacting particles, on the status of statistics before and after 1960, and on the physical meaning of the particle classification, etc. It is hoped that this will provide a physical background for discussing the classification schemes of SU(3) and the Regge trajectories. Finally, in discussing the two classification schemes, particularly the SU(3) scheme, effort has been made to explain with as much clarity as possible the physical background and the conjecture made, the mathematical basis, the theoretical results, and comparison with experiment. Comparison with experiment shows that the Regge trajectory scheme is not at all as satisfactory as the SU(3) scheme, this being naturally related with the serious difficulty as revealed by experiment (cf. Section II.3) of the theory of Regge poles. It is hoped that this paper may present a general picture of the recent development of "elementary particles", probably showing what problems have become clear and what still have not, and may possibly indicate the direction of future experimental research.
MOTION OF POLES IN THE LEE MODEL
T. S. CHANG
1965, 116 (11): 1882-1888. doi: 10.7498/aps.21.1882
Abstract +
This short paper studies the motion of the poles in the first and the second sheets of the scattering amplitude in the Lee model as the coupling constant g2 changes. It is proved that, with or without the left hand cut, with or without the inelastic cut, the theory does not permit the occurrence of poles in the second sheet representing resonances unless the CDD poles are introduced for the inverse amplitude.When the left hand cut is present and the CDD poles are introduced, a pole representing resonance may slip across the normal cut (near the right threshold) into the first sheet as the coupling constant g2 increases. But before this occurs, another pole slips into the first sheet across the left hand cut (near the left threshold). Motion of poles in the two sheets is plotted for one such special case.When the left hand cut is absent and the CDD poles are not yet introduced, it is pointed out that no passage of poles of one sheet into another sheet is possible so long as g2>0. When the CDD poles are introduced, such passage becomes possible. It is shown that if a pole in the second sheet slips across the normal cut on increasing g2 beyond a certain value g12>0, then before g2 reaches this value, another pole enters the first sheet at-∞. Needless to say, poles entering from the left usually provide ghosts.These general features are believed to hold for field-theoretical models in general.
APPLICATION OF THE CONICAL FUNCTION AND MEAN VALUE THEOREM TO THE PROBLEMS OF SCATTERING
LIU YAO-YANG
1965, 116 (11): 1889-1896. doi: 10.7498/aps.21.1889
Abstract +
Basing on the dispersion relation, an approximate method is suggested to obtain the scattering amplitudes. In principle we can apply this method to the study of the amplitude behaviour of low and high energy scattering. For high energy π±p, K±p, pp, and pp scattering, the primary comparison with experiments is made by two parameters. It is found that the theory agrees with experiments.
ON THE π-π RESONANCE STATES
KE MO-LIN, TUAN I-SHIH
1965, 116 (11): 1903-1912. doi: 10.7498/aps.21.1903
Abstract +
From the requirements of analyticity and unitarity, the resonance behaviours of the partial wave amplitudes for π-π scattering are discussed in general. The theory involves a function F(l)I)(v), which indicates deviation from the Breit-Wigner type resonance formula. When F(l)I)(v)=1, the amplitude has exactly the Breit-Wigner form. Further investigation shows that the function F(l)I)(v) in general deviates from 1. By use of the ND-1 method, the crossing symmetry and the ρ- and f0-bootstrap approximation, by comparing with the integral expression of the partial wave amplitude for the interval -90 are calculated. The method takes into account both the contributions of the inelastic process and the dispersion integral of the negative interval. The calculation gives v(R1)=6.4,Г1=0.12 for the J=1, I=1 state and v(R2)=20, Г2=0.016 for the J=2, I=0 state. These results correspond to a mass of 762 MeV and a half-width of about 45 MeV for the ρ meson, and a mass of 1283 MeV for the f0 meson. They are in good agreement with recent experimental data.
BRIEF REPORT
1965, 116 (11): 1913-1914. doi: 10.7498/aps.21.1913
Abstract +
1965, 116 (11): 1915-1918. doi: 10.7498/aps.21.1915
Abstract +
1965, 116 (11): 1919-1920. doi: 10.7498/aps.21.1919
Abstract +
1965, 116 (11): 1921-1923. doi: 10.7498/aps.21.1921
Abstract +
1965, 116 (11): 1924-1926. doi: 10.7498/aps.21.1924
Abstract +
1965, 116 (11): 1927-1932. doi: 10.7498/aps.21.1927
Abstract +

搜索

文章查询

x

Vol. 21, No. 11 (1965)

1965年06月05日
目录
目录
研究简报
研究简报
领域
目录
“基本粒子”的实验研究近况
张文裕
1965, 116 (11): 1831-1872. doi: 10.7498/aps.21.1831
摘要 +
这篇总结性文章论述了最近四、五年来“基本粒子”实验研究的发展情况。全文着重讨论了强相互作用粒子的发展情况,关于弱相互作用问题则谈得不多。其主要原因是:在强相互作用粒子方面,近年来实验上发现了大量的粒子共振态,以致使粒子总数由30种剧增到100种左右,而且,有关的理论方面也相应地取得了成功的发展——由强相互作用对称性提出的SU(3)分类方案。正是这些新发展,使得对所谓基本粒子(至少对强相互作用粒子来说)是有结构的、是可分的看法在近年来更加明确了。本文总结和讨论了最近四、五年来较重要的七组实验——四组关于强相互作用问题,三组关于弱相互作用问题,并且,集中地讨论了强相互作用粒子在最近几年来的发展情况,1960年前后的统计对比以及粒子分类的物理意义等,这些为讨论SU(3)和Regge轨迹分类方案准备了有利的物理条件。在讨论SU(3)和Regge轨迹分类方案时,本文只着重讨论了这两个方案(特别是SU(3))的物理背景和设想、方案的数学基础、理论结果及其与实验的比较。通过和实验比较,Regge轨迹方案就显出了远不如SU(3)方案,这个事实和Regge极理论所出现的严重问题(参看第二章第3节)当然是分不开的。希望通过这篇文章能向读者介绍“基本粒子”在这几年中的发展概况,在现阶段解决或摸清了那些问题,以及今后实验工作的可能方向。
6.8GeV/cπ-—N非弹性作用的继续研究
王世伟, 王祝翔, 任敬儒, 罗春熏, 郑蒲英, 郎鹏飞, 黄德强
1965, 116 (11): 1873-1881. doi: 10.7498/aps.21.1873
摘要 +
本文继续文献[1],总共积累了493个非弹性作用事例。在ω=1.5GeV附近的峯仍然明显地突出于单π交换近似理论曲线以外,物理解释同文献[1]。镜象系质子非弹性系数Kz值的实验分布也在丰度较大的统计基础上与上述单π交换理论作了比较。利用鉴定了的π介子在实验室系的动量谱对未鉴定的粒子中应有的质子数作了估计。
李模型中极点的运动
张宗燧
1965, 116 (11): 1882-1888. doi: 10.7498/aps.21.1882
摘要 +
本文指出,在李模型中,不论有否左方割线和非弹性割线,只要不引入CDD极点,第二叶不具有代表共振态的极点。当CDD极点被引入后,第二叶极点可能在偶合常数增加时穿过正常割线而走入第一叶,但在这以前,另有一极点自左方(或穿过左方割线,或在-∞)走入第一叶。文中画出了一种情形下的二叶的全部极点的运动。
圆锥函数和中值定理在散射问题上的应用
刘耀阳
1965, 116 (11): 1889-1896. doi: 10.7498/aps.21.1889
摘要 +
本文在单色散关系的基础上提出了一个得到散射振幅的近似方法。原则上,这个方法能用于讨论高能和低能散射振幅的行为。用两个参数对高能π±p,K±p,pp和pp散射实验作了初步比较,发现理论和实验是符合的。
μ-+He3→H3+ν过程的几率及原子核波函数
陈鹤琴
1965, 116 (11): 1897-1902. doi: 10.7498/aps.21.1897
摘要 +
用三种不同的核波函数计算了u-介子在He3核上的俘获几率,将结果与其他作者的结果进行了比较。
关于π-π共振态
葛墨林, 段一士
1965, 116 (11): 1903-1912. doi: 10.7498/aps.21.1903
摘要 +
本文从解析性和么正性出发,对具有共振行为的π-π散射分波振幅的形式作了普遍的讨论。理论中包含了一个标志与Breit-Wigner共振形式偏离的函数F(l)I)(v),当F(l)I)(v)=1时,振幅恰好具有Breit-Wigner共振形式。具体计算表明,这个函数与1有一定的偏离。利用ND-1方法、交叉对称性、ρ与f0的Bootstrap近似,将所得到的振幅与-90的共振解。计算中考虑了非弹性过程和负半轴色散积分的贡献。计算结果得到,对于J=1,I=1态,vR=6.4,Г1=0.12;对于J=2,I=0态,v(R2)=20,Г2=0.016。这相当于mρ=762MeV,mf0=1283MeV,ρ的半宽度约为45MeV。它们与目前的实验数据是很好符合的。
研究简报
么正对称性和超子的非轻子衰变
陈启洲
1965, 116 (11): 1915-1918. doi: 10.7498/aps.21.1915
摘要 +
关于Y1*对产生的分支比
陈激
1965, 116 (11): 1919-1920. doi: 10.7498/aps.21.1919
摘要 +
重子共振态的选择规则
叶芃生
1965, 116 (11): 1924-1926. doi: 10.7498/aps.21.1924
摘要 +